Polling places set for August Municipal Election

The Bessemer City Council has set the polling places for the August 28, 2018 City of Bessemer Municipal Elections, including changes to three polling places that residents need to note. In District 2, Box 1 will be changed from Abrams Elementary School to The Dunbar Abrams Community Center at 2715 Sixth Avenue North. In District 4, Box 1 will be changed from Fire Station No. 3 to Morgan United Methodist Church at 2701 Morgan Road. In District 6, Box 2 will be closing its current location at the Bessemer Civic Center and voters will be relocated to Bessemer Fire Station No. 5 at 1709 Long 12th Street North. The changes were approved unanimously at the March 6, 2018 City Council. The Council Districts and Polling Places for the city of Bessemer Municipal Election are as follows: District 1, Box 1 – Fire Administration Building (formerly National Guard Building), 1101 Second Avenue North District 2, Box 1 – Dunbar Abrams Community Center, 2715 Sixth Avenue North District 3, Box 1 – Southside Homes Community Center, 2501 Clarendon Avenue District 4, Box 1 – Morgan United Methodist Church, 2701 Morgan Road District 4, Box 2 – Parkwood Church of God, 1975 Highway 150 District 5, Box 1, – Westhills Elementary School, 710 Glenn Road District 6, Box 1 – Fire Station No.4, 495 Flint Hill Road District 6, Box 2 – Fire Station No. 5, 1709 Long 12th Street North District 7, Box 1 – Thompson Manor, 1500 Exeter Avenue District 7, Box 2 – Jonesboro Elementary School, 125 Owen Avenue. The city’s online map of the voting districts will be updated soon to reflect the changes.