New City Officials Sworn-in

The city of Bessemer held a swearing-in ceremony for the offices of the Mayor, City Council and Bessemer School Board members on Monday, November 7 at the Bessemer Civic Center.

Each elected official will serve a four-year term which will end in November 2026. The elected officials sworn into office are listed below: 

Kenneth Gulley

Bessemer City Council
District 1 – Jarvis Collier
District 2 – Chester Porter
District 3 – Sarah Bell Person
District 4 – Donna Thigpen
District 5 – Ron Marshall
District 6 – Carla Foreman Jackson
District 7 – Cleo King

Bessemer Board of Education
District 1 – Anthony Williams
District 2 – Terry Dawson
District 3 – Renna Soles Scott
District 4 – Sam Morris
District 5 - Margie Varner
District 6 - Remeka Thompson
District 7 – Lee Jones

Mayor Gulley gave remarks at the end of the event. He thanked voters for giving him an opportunity to serve a fourth term. He extended his hand to both the members of the City Council and the School Board to work with his office to move the city forward. Gulley said all have witnessed what can happen in Bessemer when city leaders work together for a common goal.

Mayor Gulley also thanked city employees for their efforts. 

Mrs. Johnnye P. Lassiter served as the mistress of ceremony for the event. Newly appointed Mayor’s Assistant/Chief of Staff Christopher Warren sang the National Anthem, while Ms. Patricia Hilliard delivered the welcome. The Pastor Douglas Caddell of Canaan Baptist Church delivered the invocation
A crowd of more than 500 attended the event